Death in the Primrose Hotel – Chapter 9

Vanessa and I met Lyons for breakfast at ‘The Diner’ below my office Thursday morning. Debbie’s eyes spit fire at Vanessa and then at me as we walked in. After telling Lyons about Debbie’s kiss, he stared at her as we entered and noticed the fire in her eyes. Debbie was too intent at staring and Vanessa that she never noticed Lyons watching her. Vanessa was bright and chipper this morning and on a high, raring and anxious to go on what she called last night as her great adventure never noticed Debbie’s burning glare. Maybe Debbie’s not totally over me yet.
“Sarge, I’m kinda sorry I made this other commitment. I’d much rather go with you and Vanessa. I think this case, if you can solve it, will go a long way to building your reputation as a top-notch private eye. As much as I’d like to tag along and help make you famous, I can’t get out of this prior commitment. A word of advise though – be careful. Even a skeleton can jump up and bite you in the ass,” Lyons said.
“I’m really looking forward to this trip,” Vanessa said. “This is an excellent opportunity to see first hand how the police work and not just find out about it by questioning cops under oath in court. I mean my job is exciting but ordinary. It’s just a matter of asking the police the right questions on the stand and getting the proper responses from them that we discussed beforehand. This is a chance to see how the actual work of catching the criminals is accomplished. Vanessa turned to me and added, “And besides, on this trip I get to see you in action.”
Lyons laughed. “I’ve seen the Sarge in action and I’m not that impressed.” A Cheshire cat grin crossed his face. Vanessa lightly slapped the back of his hand.
“Vanessa, honey, you may not be so excited when we get there because we will need to spend some time in the town library reading old newspapers and town directories, if they have them, gathering any information on the Primrose Hotel, Prohibition and the people,” I said.
“Is that before or after I get my badge and Concealed Carry?” Vanessa asked as excited as a child on Christmas morning knowing that Santa brought the doll she wanted.

Leave a Reply

