Death in the Primrose Hotel – Chapter 5 cont’d

“Jake, I haven’t seen you in a while. Where have you been?” Shelly asked. Shelly happened to be Debbie’s cousin who waited on the booths along the far wall and the tables in the center of the floor. Shelly was also five feet tall with dirty blond hair tied in a ponytail down to her waist. Today she had on an old and washed out black into gray Led Zeppelin tee shirt, without a bra. She really didn’t need one. Her erect nipples poked out from her tee shirt. Her angelic face accentuated by the thin rectangular shaped black plastic eyeglasses perched on her cute nose. Her jeans also had holes at the knees and dirty Nikes shoes on her feet with white ankle socks.
“Vanessa and I’ve been out of town for a week or so,” I said.
Debbie, overhearing my conversation with Shelly, slammed the mug of coffee on the counter in front of me and walked back to the grill. Hot coffee splashed over the top of the mug and ran across the counter and cascaded to the floor at my feet. I held my piece and pulled a handful of napkins from the holder and used them to mop up the spilled coffee. When the pancakes finished cooking, Debbie slammed my plate on the counter so forcefully the stack jumped up then fell back down on itself like in a cartoon.
I knew Debbie had a crush on me before Vanessa and I were married. I never encouraged her but I guess I never discouraged her either. I guess I was kind of flattered, I don’t know. Maybe if I hadn’t started dating Vanessa when I did, I may have asked Debbie out. Mental shoulder shrug. Besides, she always talked of somebody named Timmy who she said was her boyfriend. I tried to remain professional. I guess this is her way of venting her anger and frustration. To paraphrase my childhood idol, Popeye, the Sailor man, ‘I can’t takes no more’.

Leave a Reply

