Death in Diamonds Chapter 12 cont’d…

“I doan know.” I hit him with a left jab to his broken nose. He screamed and started to rise from the chair. Blood started flowing down his shirt again. I hit him again with a right cross putting my shoulder behind the punch knocking him back into the chair.
“You promised I could hit him again.”
“Sorry, next time.”
Solana jumped up from the floor grabbing a dirty chef knife from the sink and ran to us. I’m not sure who she intended to use that knife on, Lyons, myself or Ramon. Lyons grabbed the hand that held the knife and bent her arm backwards over her shoulder where an arm was never intended to be bent. Solana screamed in pain and the knife clattered to the floor. Lyons swung his fist and hit Solana in the middle of her face. She screamed again. I heard his punch land and break her nose knocking her back into the corner. The front of her white sleep tee turned red as blood ran down from her broken nose.
“As a general rule, I don’t like to hit a woman but when one comes at me with a weapon, all bets are off,” Lyons said to me, flexing his right hand. We both had seen armed women in the Gulf whose only job was to kill us.
“Believe it or not, Ramon, I’m getting tired of hitting you and if you don’t tell me the truth the my friend here will just have to have a little talk with his good friend Tony Ciano; or maybe he’ll just beat the crap out of you. Who stole the necklace?”

Leave a Reply

