Death in Diamonds Chapter 12 cont’d..

Solana came running back to us and started beating me on the back with both fists. Lyons backhanded her across the face with his left hand. She fell backwards. His Marine Corp ring opened a cut causing a trickle of blood to flow from the corner of her mouth. I went to the sink, turned on the cold water tap, retrieved a glass and a dirty dish rag. I filled the glass and soaked the dish cloth. I threw the wet cloth to Solana. It landed on her chest. I threw the water from the glass in Ramon’s face. He started to come around.
“Ramon, does Solana here know you been sleeping with Terry Perez?” I asked. He moaned. I’m not sure if it was from the beating we gave him or the beating he could look forward to from Solana.
“You puerco,” swine, Solana shouted at Ramon, trying to get up.
“He lie. I doan sleep with anybody but ju, baby,” Ramon said.
“Ju puerco acostado,” you lying pig, Solana shouted
“Amor mi,” my love, “there is no one but ju,” Ramon pleaded.
“Bullshit,” Solana spat out in unaccented English.
Solana made another lung and finally reached Ramon. She started slapping his already bloody face. Solana’s hot blooded Latin spitfire temperament poured forth and Lyons needed both hands and a lot of strength to keep her from killing Ramon before we could find out more about the necklace.
“You know Tony Ciano, don’t you?” I asked Lyons, looking at him after Solana quieted.
“Yeah, why?”
“Do you think Tony C. would be interested in knowing that Ramon here is skimming his money?”
“I think Tony C. would very much like to know that Ramon is stealing from him,” Lyons said. Ramon cringed and cowered back.
“I doan steal no the money from Mr. C.”
“Ramon, who stole the necklace?” I asked when his breathing return closer to normal. His shirt was now pink with his watered down blood. The bleeding from Ramon’s nose slowed. His right eye was swollen completely closed and his left eye was barely open. His face turned black, blue and pulpy. I don’t know how much more he could take before he passed out – for good. And I didn’t give a damn.

Leave a Reply

