Death in Diamonds Chapter 11 cont’d

“Yes he is,” I said as we pushed her out of the way and barged into the house over her protests.
“Ramon!” She shouted. Ramon was sitting at the kitchen table finishing his breakfast. He jumped up dropping his fork and flipping over his plate of eggs as we stormed in reaching around to the small of his back to pull a nine millimeter Glock. I pulled my .45 and pressed the barrel hard on the bandaged portion of his nose between his eyes while grabbing his tee shirt with my left hand and pulling him into my gun. He winced in pain.
“If that gun in your hand moves, I will shoot you and bits of your skull and your brains and blood will be splattered all over that wall behind you, do you understand?” I pressed the barrel of my .45 deeper into the bridge of nose as if to press my point forcing him back into the chair. He yelped again in pain.
“Jes,” he said as I took his gun away and handed it to Lyons.
Lyons dropped the magazine from Ramon’s gun and racked the slide back ejecting the bullet from the chamber sending it flying in the air. He deftly caught the bullet in mid-flight with his free hand and slipped the clip, bullet and Ramon’s gun in his pocket.
“Ramon, you remember me?” I asked.
“Jes,” he said automatically touching his bandaged nose.
“Good. We want the necklace that Terry Perez gave you.”
“I doan’ know nothin’ ’bout no necklace.” I hit Ramon on his bandaged nose. He screamed. I try not to punch anyone in the mouth with my bare fists. Teeth can do more damage to a fist than bare knuckles can do to a mouth. For dental work I prefer a Louisville Slugger, it works better.
“Ramon, the necklace.”

Leave a Reply

