Death in Diamonds – New Chapter 6 cont’d…….

“What about the dress you ruined?” I asked after a moment of inspiration.
“He put another two hundred dollars on the table and started taking his clothes off. I told him the dress cost me three hundred dollars. He threw another hundred on the table. That covered the dress. Crystal collects the clients charges from which she pays us our commission after the clients leave. Any tips are between the client and us.”
“Did any of the ladies mention their tips that night?” I asked.
“Carol was pissed off. She wailed that her john stiffed her.” Pauline said, laughing at her own choice of words. It was funny. “The others didn’t say. We generally never talk about tips.”
To make a short story long, three minutes later he was finished and breathing hard. I like sex and I like money; if it weren’t for the clients this would be a damn fine job.”
Pauline was as bright as Crystal said, Pauline had a quick, dry sense of humor. I couldn’t help but laugh at how she told her story.
“Pauline, did you see anyone near Crystal’s office door during the party?” I asked.
“No, I didn’t.” I didn’t think she would but I had to ask anyway.
“Sometimes in this business, you have to take the good with the bad. Sometimes these high and mighty clients don’t have the couth of a, a… I can’t think of anything with that low; high position, low class,” Pauline said.
“Pauline, what are your plans when you decide to change professions?” I asked.
“Why do you ask?”
“Just curious,” I said. I love having someone answer my questions with a question of their own.
“You know what curiosity did to the cat, don’t you?”
“Yeah, but I thought I’d ask anyway.”
“I have enough money saved up and invested in T-Bills and blue chip stocks that when I walk away from this profession as you say, I’ll be in good shape, that is unless of course, I walk away in handcuffs.” She laughed.

Leave a Reply

