Death in Diamonds – New Chapter 6 cont’d…..

“After I graduated high school with honors at seventeen and like every other Iowa farm girl, I came to D.C. to get a job in the government and a husband. They didn’t tell me the government had a hiring freeze in place and that there are more women in D.C. looking for husbands than men looking for wives.
I hadn’t found any job or a husband and I was broke and depressed. I was down to my last ten bucks. Hell. I didn’t even have bus fare back to Iowa. I walked into a coffee shop and ordered dinner; a cup of coffee and a slice of toast. Crystal walked in and as they say, the rest is history. My mother knows and understands what I do for a living. But my father thinks I have a government job.” Pauline’s body language revealed that she told the truth about her past.
“What do you know about Crystal’s missing necklace?”
“What necklace?”
“Her diamond necklace that disappeared two nights ago at the party where you were one of the ladies in attendance.”
“I don’t know anything about it,” she said calmly.
“You left the party that night once around nine fifteen coming back fifteen minutes later and again with your gentleman at ten of ten for about another fifteen minutes. What did you do during those absences?” I asked.
Boyle stepped back into the office, came over to me, leaned close to my ear and whispered, “Crystal said no about asking the gentleman about Terry’s absence.”
“Ok, thanks,” I whispered back.

Leave a Reply

