Death in Diamonds – New Chapter 6 cont’d

“I don’t know,” she said, barely above a whisper.
“I’m sorry, I didn’t hear you,” I said.
“I don’t know,” she repeated, this time louder.
“How do you mean?”
“I’m getting too old for this kind of operation. I don’t get as many calls and I did just as few years ago. If it weren’t for being asked to fill in like the other night, I wouldn’t have worked this week.”
“How do you propose to support yourself? Can you afford to open your own house?”
“No.” A tear ran down her cheek.
“Carol, an item of Crystal’s went missing at the party.”
“I didn’t steal it,” she replied quickly, too quickly.
“How do you know it was stolen. I said nothing about the item being stolen. It merely could have been misplaced. You don’t even know what is missing.”
“What’s missing?” Carol asked.
“Carol, a very valuable necklace of Crystal’s is missing.”
“It doesn’t make any difference. I’m not a thief, I didn’t steal it.”
“But you are a junkie; you snorted cocaine the other night at the party,” Boyle said. It was a statement not a question.
She was taken back for a minute. “No I don’t. You can’t prove it. Its a lie. You’re a liar,” she said almost hysterically.
Watching Carol’s reactions to the cocaine accusations was like watching a lie detector pen go ballistic across the paper.
“I saw you with coke around your nose the other night at the party,” Boyle said.
“Please don’t tell Crystal. She’ll throw me out. I’ll do anything you want if you don’t tell her. We can party,” Carol said to me.
“I won’t,” I said. I didn’t let her know that Boyle was going to inform Crystal. “What do you know about the missing necklace?”

Leave a Reply

