Death in Diamonds – New Chapter 5 cont’d…

“Besides,” Boyle continued, “she’s family. She’s the only family I have left, all the others are gone. She’s all I have left,” Boyle said with a sigh.
“Who was Pauline’s gentleman?”
“Jake, I don’t think Crystal would want me to discuss that with you.”
“Do you know the gentleman in question?”
“Yes.”
“Do you think he would steal the necklace?”
“No.” I wasn’t going to get any information out of Boyle about the gentleman so I thought I’d try another approach.
“Did anyone else leave the party?”
“No, I don’t think so.”
I had been studying Boyle all during our talk. He exhibited none of the signs of a liar.
“Did all the ladies and their gentlemen go directly to the bedrooms when they separated?”
Boyle sat there for a moment as if deep in thought. “Yes, but after leading her gentleman to the bedroom, Terry came back to the bar as I was shutting it down for the night. She wanted a bottle of champagne and two flutes. She had been drinking ginger ale all night and looked sober. So what the hell, I handed her the bottle and flutes and I got busy at the bar and I didn’t see her walk away. I can’t see if she went back to her room or to Crystal’s office.
“Crystal came over to me at the bar and I poured her a flute of champagne and opened a club soda for myself and we touched glasses. We talked quietly for maybe five minutes.” Crystal felt that the party had gone off well and that the gentlemen were satisfied. She thanked me and headed to her office where she found the necklace missing.” Boyle stopped. His eyes widened as if a light bulb suddenly switched on. “Whoever stole the necklace had that extra five minutes to commit the crime.”

Leave a Reply

