Death in Diamonds – New Chapter 5

“Boyle, first of all, I want to ask you while we are here by ourselves, without Crystal present, did you steal her necklace?”
He looked me straight in the eyes and said, “No, Mr. Curtis, I didn’t.” The brogue in his speech became more pronounced.
“Sorry, I just had to ask you,” I said.
“I know. I don’t blame you”
“Boyle, I knew before I asked you that you didn’t steal the necklace.
“Then why did you ask?”
“Because I wanted to hear if from your mouth.” I wanted to see his physiological responses to my question and his answer.
“I want to find out what you saw, felt or heard; your impressions of that night that might help us find the necklace and the person who stole it,” I said.
“It was a special impromptu event at the request by four of Crystal’s most prominent clients who could afford the best and were willing to pay to be paired with four of Crystal’s finest ladies available.”
“I got the impression that Crystal didn’t think too highly of Carol Bottomley and Terry Perez. Why would she use them if this party was so important?”
“Carol and Terry were last minute replacements. The two ladies Crystal originally wanted for the party had prior appointments for that evening,” Boyle said with a shrug of his shoulders.
“Back to the party,” I prompted.
“Usually I work the bar as well as keep my eye on things for these small intimate gatherings.”
“Were you armed?”
“Yes, I’m always armed at these types of events. But my gun lay on a shelf under the bar in within easy reach. I wasn’t wearing a jacket and we don’t want to have a gun in plain sight. Anyway, I didn’t think I’d need one that night.”
“What time did the party start?” I asked.
“Around seven thirty, give or take.”
“What time did it end?”
“Around eleven o’clock when the couples broke off and went to their rooms.”
“The ladies and their gentlemen?”
“Yes.”
“What time did Crystal tell you the necklace was missing?”
“Just a few minutes later,” Boyle said.
“When the ladies were occupied with their gentlemen?”
“It would appear.”

Leave a Reply

